Ready to Enjoy | DTM

BMW_P90174829_highRes BMW_P90179269_highRes BMW_P90180972_highRes

Much will be new when BMW Motorsport kicks off the 2015 DTM season in Hockenheim (DE) this weekend. For the first time for 15 years, each event in the popular touring car series will feature two races with the same number of points up for grabs on Saturday (40 minutes) and Sunday (60 minutes). In total, 18 races await the BMW drivers and teams over the course of nine weekends.

Like last year, the 2015 grid will include eight BMW M4 DTMs, fielded by the experienced BMW teams RMG, Schnitzer, RBM and MTEK. As defending champion, Marco Wittmann (DE) competes in Saturday’s first race of the season with the coveted number 1 on his Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM. The BMW Team RMG driver will once again go in search of top results alongside Maxime Martin (BE), Martin Tomczyk (DE), António Félix da Costa (PT), Augusto Farfus (BR), Bruno Spengler (CA) and Timo Glock (DE). New to the driver line-up is Tom Blomqvist (GB) who joins BMW Team RBM for his rookie DTM season.

As well as the race format, further changes have been made to the regulations: as of 2015 there will be just one tyre compound. The two 20-minute qualifying sessions on Saturday and Sunday, and the races themselves, will be held on standard tyres. Each driver has four sets of dry tyres at their disposal. The number of opportunities to use the Drag Reduction System (DRS) has also been increased: the system may now be used three times per lap, provided a driver is less than one second behind the car in front when he crosses the start/finish line. At the push of a button, the driver may then lower the rear wing by 18 degrees, rather than the previous 16 degrees, in order to make overtaking easier.

Samsung is a sponsor of a BMW Team RNG.

30.04.-03.05. Hockenheim
29.05.-31.05. Lausitzring
26.06.-28.06. Norisring
10.07.-12.07. Zandvoort
31.07.-02.08. Spielberg
28.08.-30.08. Moskau
11.09.-13.09. Oschersleben
25.09.-27.09. Nürburgring
16.10.-18.10. Hockenheim

Tagged with: